top of page
  • FG

Tying It All Together

Updated: May 30, 2019

Alright, it's time. After reading through all the posts, you should have a pretty good idea what my response to the inquiry question is, but I will put it here in simplified and shorter way so it is comprehensible.


The inquiry question: how has the author's experiences and viewpoints influenced their choice of writing style and genre?


Here is my answer to this question put in the best way I can manage. The author, Fyodor Dostoevsky, had a psychologically challenging childhood and life. From his father dying to suffering from financial instability, jail, and epileptic attacks, Dostoevsky had to fight through many challenges. This led to Dostoevsky becoming one of the most well-known existentialists of all time. I believe the challenging experiences in his life led to him having a more negative viewpoint on the world in the form of existentialism which led to him choosing to write in the psychological and philosophical genre. He chose to write in these genres to be able to portray himself onto the characters and work out his own psychological and philosophical ideas. It is also important to note that since he was an existentialist, it was most likely just interesting for him to write stories about that. Dostoevsky's characters are also well-known for not being totally mentally stable just as Dostoevsky was not fully stable himself. This instability shows through in Dostoevsky's writing style. Dostoevsky often using ellipses, circular language (going back and forth between ideas and paradoxes) internal monologues and dialogues, and unreliability to really show the mental instability of the characters he writes about.


That concludes my project. Thank you for sticking with me through all my ramblings and ideas throughout this whole website. I hope you learned something new!




#you get another meme #the grand finale #inquiry question #my last post #it's altogether now #all my thoughts #I never thought it was possible #bye guys

6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page